Skip to main content

Duke of Edinburgh

The Duke of Ed Award is for young people aged 14 to 25. You design your program around the things that interest you most.

There are no activities that you have to do, but you need to work through 4 sections for Bronze and Silver levels, and five sections will take you to Gold. Your Award Leader, Supervisors and Assessors can help you decide on activities for each section.

The Duke of Ed and the QCE

The Duke of Ed is a recognised course of study for the Queensland Certificate of Education (QCE). You can earn up to 4 points toward your QCE—1 for Bronze, 1 for Silver and 2 for Gold.

Award Levels

There are 3 Duke of Ed Award levels to choose from:

  • Bronze - for those 14 years and over
  • Silver - for those 15 years and over
  • Gold - for those 16 years and over.

Start at the level that matches your age.

Award Sections

For each award level, you need to complete four sections (five for Gold participants):

  • Fitness/physical recreation
  • Skills
  • Volunteering
  • Adventurous Journey
  • Residential Project (for Gold participants only).

For more information, please visit:

Duke of Edinburgh Website

2024 Term Dates


Term 1 23 Jan - 28 Mar 10
Term 2 15 Apr - 21 Jun 10
Term 3 8 Jul - 13 Sep 10
Term 4 30 Sep - 5 Dec 10