Skip to main content

College History

St Andrew’s Catholic College was established in 2001 as a Pre-School to Year 4 college with an enrolment of 89 students. It is situated in the Parish of the Northern Beaches of Cairns. The founding Principal of the College, Mrs Lauretta Graham, worked tirelessly to establish not only a world class learning facility but a venue in which the whole community could share.

In 2009, the Roman Catholic Diocese of Cairns, the Cairns Regional Council and the Queensland State Government developed the Redlynch Community Sports Facility on the grounds of St Andrew’s. The aim was to provide sporting facilities for the local schools and community. During school hours this facility is used by all schools within the area for various sporting events and the facility is available for district sporting teams outside school hours.

All Saints’ Chapel was constructed within the College grounds in 2009. This had been a vision of Mrs Graham’s for many years. The Chapel has been nominated for a number of architectural awards.

St Andrew’s began 2012 with the appointment of a new Principal Mr Lee MacMaster who continued   to take the College from strength to strength. Lee continued to build on Lauretta’s vision and in 2018, All Saints’ Theatre was built alongside All Saints’ Chapel.

In 2019 a new era for St Andrew’s commenced with the appointment of Principal, Dr Sean Mangan. Under the guidance of Dr Mangan, the College reached a total of 1740 students and a new building was constructed featuring contemporary classrooms, Science/STEM laboratories, Pottery and Textiles facilities. Dr Mangan continues to drive the College forward as a leader in Catholic Education in Far North Queensland.

An overwhelming strength of St Andrew’s Catholic College is the experienced staff who are caring, dedicated and committed to providing a quality education for all students. Overall program structures and philosophies are monitored by a highly skilled and experienced senior staff, whilst enthusiastic and committed teachers work to meet the individual needs of students, supporting each student to encourage them to develop a ‘love of learning’.

The hard work and vision of our founders continues to inspire all whom work and study at the College today.

Mrs Lauretta Graham
Principal (2001 - 2011)


Mr Lee MacMaster
Principal (2012 - 2018) 


Dr Sean Mangan
Principal (2019 - 2022)


2024 Term Dates


Term 1 23 Jan - 28 Mar 10
Term 2 15 Apr - 21 Jun 10
Term 3 8 Jul - 13 Sep 10
Term 4 30 Sep - 5 Dec 10